The Light In Our Souls

Craving beyond imagination

Seems to be trendy nowadays;

As I sit here, I also ponder

I think about why we decide

To embrace pain even though

All we want is happiness

I’m in a wheel of paradox,

Not because I’m lost

I’ve never been lost,

But because I desire sovereignty

From myself, my thoughts

From the world consumed by chaos;

I want to be the astronaut

To my own soul

But I’m not

And it hurts

There’s only so much we can do

For ourselves, for others

Only so much you can take

To the sea, beyond the moon

Only so much darkness you can’t see

Nobody can

Not even you, now

And it hurts

We humans

We crave light, hope

We crave all good things;

When light doesn’t shine, talk

We create fire out of water

We use electricity out of necessity

Some of us, we

Try seeking another world

We fight with death just to stay alive

We colonize ourselves, our soul

Exploiting every ounce of strength

Just to stay alive

We’ve learned from our external world

All too well

And whilst in process

We yearn for more light

Failing to conquer our own beliefs

We cringe with fear, desiring more strength

Which ends up being our light

Only we can see, we can feel now

But light is never just light

Light is always something else

Light is heavy with love

Light is being found when you’re not

Light is energy climaxing

A reflection of the sun, light

A religion we follow, light

The shade of our colonizers, light

Light is the devil

But in red

Light is above us, under us

Light is never just light

Light will never just be light

But light is love

And without it

We will never find ourselves

Leave a comment